Independent Non-Executive Chairman

Dato’ Abdul Majit bin Ahmad Khan

Dato’ Abdul Majit bin Ahmad Khan (“Dato’ Abdul Majit”), a Malaysian, male, aged 73, was appointed to the Board as Independent Non-Executive Chairman of the Company on 1 August 2014. He is the Chairman of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee and a member of Audit Committee of the Company.

Dato’ Abdul Majit holds a Bachelor of Economics (Honours) from Universiti Malaya. He served with the government for thirty four (34) years and held various positions in the Prime Minister’s Department and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia. His positions provided him with wide exposures in various countries that he served at, such as Laos, Vietnam, USA, Nigeria, Ghana, Cote de Ivoire, Sierra Leone and Cameroon, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea and the People’s Republic of China.

In his capacity as the Under Secretary of West Asia and the Organisation in Islamic Cooperation (“OIC”), he participated in several Ministerial and prime Ministerial visits to West Asian Countries and OIC Meetings. He was the Director General of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (“ASEAN”) Division of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, from 1996 until 1998. As Director General of ASEAN Division, he actively participated in the organisation of the 30th ASEAN Ministerial Meeting held in Kuala Lumpur as well as the ASEAN Heads of Summit and the 10+3 Summit Meetings in Malaysia. In 1998, Dato’ Abdul Majit was appointed as the Ambassador of Malaysia to the People’s Republic of China until his retirement on 2 January 2005.

Dato’ Abdul Majit is currently the President of the Malaysia-China Friendship Association (position held since 2005), Director of Malaysia-China Business Council, Honorary Chairman of the Malaysia-China Chamber of Commerce and as an Adjunct Professor to the Institute of China Studies, University of Malaya. He is also an Advisor to Invest KL and the cofounder of Zheng He International Peace Foundation based in Washington D.C.

Dato’ Abdul Majit’s other directorship in public companies include Hong Leong Asset Management Berhad, Zecon Berhad and Dutaland Berhad.